Fall Horseback-Riding Destinations - Horse&Rider

Fall Horseback-Riding Destinations

Enjoy stunning fall colors from the back of your horse with our exclusive listing of riding destinations from coast-to-coast.
Author:
Publish date:

Fall is upon us. If you’ve always dreamed of riding through spectacular autumn leaves, now is your chance. Ride under deep-blue skies among the reds, oranges, and yellows of autumn foliage with our handy guide to fall-foliage trail-riding destinations (where you can take your own horse) and riding vacations (where trail mounts are supplied).

Leatherwood Mountains Resort, Ferguson, North Carolina. | Photo by Tommy White Photography

Leatherwood Mountains Resort, Ferguson, North Carolina. | Photo by Tommy White Photography

FALL-FOLIAGE TRAIL-RIDING DESTINATIONS

PACIFIC REGION

California

Sierra Meadows Ranch, Mammoth Lakes, Calif.; www.sierrameadowsranch.com  www.mammothtrails.org

Oregon

Deschutes National Forest, Quinn Meadow Horse Camp, Bend, Ore.; www.reserveusa.com

Herman Creek Horse Camp, Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, Hood River, Ore.; www.fs.fed.us/r6/crgnsa

Washington

Blackpine Horse Camp, Okanogan-Wenatchee National Forest, Leavenworth, Wash.; http://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/okawen

Bridle Trails State Park, Kirkland, Wash.; www.bridletrails.org

Mountain Springs Lodge, Leavenworth, Wash.; www.mtsprings.com

SOUTHWEST REGION

Arizona

Little Elden Springs Horse Camp, Coconino National Forest, Flagstaff, Ariz.; www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/coconino/

New Mexico

Carson National Forest, Taos, N.M.; www.fs.usda.gov/carson

ROCKY MOUNTAIN REGION

Colorado

Cherry Creek Mountain Ranch, Hesperus, Colo.; (970) 588-3704

The Historic Triple B Ranch, Woodland Park, Colo.; www.triplebranch.com

Rocky Mountain National Park, Estes Park, Colo.; www.nps.gov.romo

Transfer Horse Camp, San Juan National Forest, Durango, Colo.; https://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/sanjuan/

Idaho

Huckleberry Tent & Breakfast, Clark Fork, Idaho; www.huckleberrytentandbreakfast.com

Line Creek Stock Camp, Idaho Panhandle State Forests, Coeur D’Alene, Idaho; (208) 765-7233

Montana

Fish Creek House Bed & Breakfast, Whitehall, Mont.; www.fishcreekhouse.com

Glacier National Park, West Glacier, Mont.; www.nps.gov/glac

Wyoming

Grand Teton National Park, Moose, Wyo.; http://www.nps.gov/grte/planyourvisit/fallcolor.htm

MIDWEST REGION

Illinois

Bear Branch Horse Resort, Eddyville, Ill.; www.bearbranch.com

Hayes Canyon Campground and Cabins, Eddyville, Ill.; www.hayescanyon.com

Indiana

Midwest Trail Ride, Norman, Ind.; www.midwesttrailride.com

Iowa

The Natural Gait, Harpers Ferry, Iowa; www.thenaturalgait.com

Michigan

4-Mile State Forest Trail Camp, Grayling, Mich.; www.dnr.state.mi.us/parksandtrails/#list

Elk Hill State Forest & Trail Camp, Vanderbilt, Mich.; www.michigandnr.com/parksandtrails/

Marzinski Equestrian Trail and Campground, Huron-Manistee National Forest, Wellston, Mich.; www.fs.usda.gov/activity/hmnf/recreation/horseriding-camping

Michigan Shore-to-Shore Trail, Michigan Trail Riders Association, Inc., Hale, Mich.; www.mtra.org

Minnesota

Maplewood State Park, Pelican Rapids, Minn.; www.dnr.state.mn.us/state_parks/maplewood/index.html

Outback Ranch, Inc., Houston, Minn.; www.outbackranch.net

Missouri

4-J Big Piney Horse Camp, Waynesville, Mo.; www.4-j.net

Brushy Creek Lodge & Resort, Black, Mo.; www.brushycreeklodge.com

Cross Country Trail Ride, LLC, Eminence, Mo.; http://crosscountrytrailrides.com

Eagle Ranch Resort, Collins, Mo.; http://eagle-ranch.com

Flying R Ranch, West Plains, Mo.; http://flying-r-ranch.com

Huckleberry Stables & Cabins, Pineville, Mo.; www.huckleberrystables.com

Panther Creek Trail Rides, Tuscumbia, Mo.; www.panthercreektrailrides.com

Ponderosa Campground, Pineville, Mo.; http://ponderosatrails.net

Ohio

Ben’s Happy Trails, Otway, Ohio; www.benshappytrails.com

South Dakota

Hay Creek Ranch, Nemo, S.D., www.haycreekranch.net

Wisconsin

Palmquist Farm, Brantwood, Wis.; www.palmquistfarm.com

Spur of the Moment Ranch, Mountain, Wis.; www.spurofthemomentranch.org

SOUTH/SOUTHEAST REGION

Alabama

Faye Whittemore Farms, Jasper, Ala.; www.fayewhittemorefarms.com

Kentucky

Lazy Gait Horse Camp, Carter, Ky.; www.lazygaithorsecamp.com

North Carolina

Chunky Gal Stables, Hayesville, N.C.; www.chunkygalstables.com

Leatherwood Mountains Resort, Ferguson, N.C.; www.leatherwoodmountains.com

South Carolina

Lakeview Plantation, Fairfax, S.C.; www.lakeviewplantation.com

Tennessee

Circle E Guest Ranch, Belvidere, Tenn.; www.circleeguestranch.com

East Fork Stables, Jamestown, Tenn.; http://eastforkstables.com

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, North Carolina; Tennessee; www.nps.gov/grsm/

Orchard Cove, Townsend, Tenn.; www.orchardcovestables.com

Saddle Valley Campground, Jamestown, Tenn.; www.saddlevalleycampground.com

True West Campground and Stables, Jamestown, Tenn.; www.truewestcampground.com

Virginia

Fort Valley Ranch, Fort Valley, Va.; www.fortvalleyranch.com

Hungry Horse East, LLC, Ivanhoe, Va.; www.hungryhorseeast.com

Iron Mountain Horse Camp, Ivanhoe, Va.; www.ironmountainhorsecamp.com

Rocky Hollow Horse Camp, Troutdale, Va.; www.rockyhollowhorsecamp.com

West Virginia

East Fork Campground, Durbin, W.V.; www.eastforkcampgrounddurbin.com

EJ’s Cottages and Stabling, Dunmore, W.V.; www.ejcottages.net

Shalimar Farm, Cass, W.V.; www.shalimarfarm.com

MID-ATLANTIC/NORTHEAST REGION

Maine

Memory Lane Vacations, Andover, Maine; www.memorylanevacations.net

Massachusetts

The Wagon Wheel Campground, Warwick, Mass.; www.thewagonwheelcampground.com

New Hampshire

Buck N Horse Campground, Groton, N.H.; (603) 744-2608

New York

Bear Spring Mountain Campground, Catskill Forest Preserve, Downsville, N.Y.; www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/24454.html

Manestay Stables, Glenfield, N.Y.; www.manestaystables.com

Otter Creek Trail System, Glenfield, N.Y.; www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/8088.html

Pure Country Campground,New Berlin, N.Y.; www.purecountrycampground.com

Pennsylvania

Cook Forest Scenic Trailride, Dude Ranch & Campground, Clarion, Pa., www.patrailride.com

Sharon’s Horse Heaven, Butler, Pa.; www.sharonshorseheaven.com

Rhode Island

Stepping Stone Ranch, West Greenwich, R.I.; www.steppingstoneranch.com

Vermont

The Bunkhouse, Washington, Vt.; www.thebunkhousevermont.com

New Discovery State Park, Peacham, Vt.; https://vtstateparks.com/newdiscovery.html

Canada

Horse Country Campground, Foresters Falls, Ontario; www.horsecountrycampground.com

FALL-FOLIAGE RIDING VACATIONS

PACIFIC REGION

California

Mammoth Lakes Pack Outfit,  Mammoth Lakes, Calif.; http://mammothpack.wixsite.com/mammothpack

Oregon

Minam River Lodge, Joseph, Ore.; http://minam-lodge.com

Washington

Mountain Springs Lodge, Leavenworth, Wash.; www.mtsprings.com

ROCKY MOUNTAIN REGION

Colorado

Bear Basin Packtrips, LLC, Westcliffe, Colo.; www.bearbasinranch.com

C Lazy U Ranch, Granby, Colo.; https://clazyu.com

Colorado Trails Ranch,  Durango, Colo.; www.coloradotrails.com

Fantasy Ranch Horseback Adventures, Crested Butte, Colo.; www.fantasyranchoutfitters.com

The Historic Triple B Ranch, Woodland Park, Colo.; www.triplebranch.com

Laramie River Ranch, Glendevey, Colo.; www.lrranch.com

M Lazy C Guest Ranch, Lake George, Colo.; www.mlazyc.com

Sundance Trail Guest Ranch, Red Feather Lakes, Colo.; www.sundancetrail.com

Wyoming

Blue Sky Sage Horseback Adventures, Big Piney, Wyo.; www.blueskysage.com

MIDWEST REGION

Michigan

Liberty Valley Ranch, Gaylord, Mich.; www.libertyvalleyranch.com

Minnesota

Hiddenbrook Peruvian Farm, LLC, Cambridge, Minn.; www.hiddenbrookperuvians.com

SOUTH/SOUTHEAST REGION

North Carolina

Dead Broke Farm, Raleigh, N.C.; www.deadbrokehorsefarm.com

High Country of North Carolina, Boone, N.C.; www.highcountryhost.com

Sandy Bottom Trail Rides, Marshall, N.C.; www.sandybottomtrailrides.net

Virginia

North Mountain Outfitter, Swoop, Va.; www.northmtnoutfitter.com

Shangrila Guest Ranch, South Boston, Va.; www.shangrilaguestranch.com

MID-ATLANTIC/NORTHEAST REGION

Maine

Farm by the River, North Conway, Maine; www.farmbytheriver.com

Massachusetts, Ridge Valley Riding Stables; Grafton, Mass.; http://ridgevalleystables.com

Vermont

Kimberly Farms, North Bennington, Vt.; www.kimberlyfarms.org

The Mountaintop Inn & Resort, Chittenden, Vt.; www.mountaintopinn.com

Mountain View Ranch, Danby, Vt.; www.mountainviewranch.biz

Top Notch Resort & Spa, Stowe, Vt.; www.topnotchresort.com

Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm, Waitsfield, Vt.; www.icelandichorses.com

Canada

Horse Country Campground, Foresters Falls, Ontario; www.horsecountrycampground.com

Related